I’ll give you a $4 an hour raise.

All you have to do is drop your car and start riding a bike. Yes that is how much of a raise you would get if you didn’t incur the expenses of driving every year and this is an average so for some of you it may be more. $4 an hour! For real, who can afford not to do it? The data is according to the AAA website of average costs of car ownership per year but ECOVELO did the math based on the current cost of a gallon of gasoline (it was around $2.60 at the end of the year when AAA did their estimates) and came up with the $4 an hour number based on a full-time 2080 hours a year work schedule and 15,000 miles of driving. $10,000 a year, why that’s a down payment on a house…for me the costs are less obviously and $10,000 is a number for someone who is probably never going to read this website but doesn’t it feel great to be paying yourself and your community rather than an oil company, insurance company, or foreign entity? I feel like I am fighting terrorism already.

7 thoughts on “I’ll give you a $4 an hour raise.

  1. So, since I sold BOTH of my cars, I get an $8/hour raise?!? About $20k. And my wife thought I was retarded. Who’s the retard now? Love you hooonneeeyyy…

  2. So, between my 3 bikes and my husbands 2 trikes we’ve got a combined $20 hour raise. Which we blow on stuff for the bikes, and on more bikes.πŸ™‚

  3. Wow, this is confusing, other Amy. At least your s-1 number (the number of bikes you can own based on how many bikes it would take for your significant other to leave you) is high!πŸ™‚

  4. They are both ways to express the perfect number of bikes you ‘should’ own.
    N = number of bikes you own
    N+1 = expression showing the number of bikes you “need” to own
    S-1 = the maximum number of bikes you can own that will not cause your significant other to divorce or leave you
    therefore you should always aim for
    N <= (S-1)

    1. That’s awesome. I’ve known my number for a long time (4) I just didn’t have the mathematic expression for it. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

