Street scene. Twins!

Old bicycles are some of my favorites and I have a couple rare ones. Not rare becase they won some special race or are constructed of uber lightweight tubing but rare because companies only marketed road touring bicycles with the features I look for (ample eylets for fenders, racks, water bottles, tire clearance) for a couple of years in the 80’s before MTB’s became all the craze so when I run across a fine example you know it’s going on here. That being said when I saw this Lotus Eclair (same frame I ride) I was excited for all the reasons I mentioned but more so because it’s the same bike I ride. Lotus utilized the rare Deore AX touring group on this bike which is hard to find and quirky itself. This appears to be a well maintained example with all of the original bits on there. My bike didn’t want to leave his new girlfriend but alas, we had to go back to work…..maybe he will meet her again.

Leave a Reply

